Additional PVP Changes for the 2021-2022 School Year

Principal and Vice-Principal Retirements

We congratulate Principal Janene Bates Stein, currently Principal of Hume Elementary School, retiring in December 31 of 2021, and Principal Joanne Beddoes, current Principal of ARES, in Creston, who is retiring, officially, on January 1, 2022. Bates Stein will be working in a district role in Innovative Learning in the Fall of 2021 and Beddoes will remain at ARES just after Winter Break.  We thank them both for their many years of excellent service to the District.

2021-2022 Changes

Director of Instruction 
Ben Eaton returns to the Board office as Director of Instruction, as well as, continuing to lead the district Crisis Management Team, Trades, and SafeSchools.

District Principal – Aboriginal Education and Equity 
Gail Higginbottom will return full-time to her portfolio as District Principal of Aboriginal Education and will be based out of Trafalgar Middle School.


Nelson Family of Schools

Paul Luck will become Principal at L.V. Rogers Secondary in Nelson. Ron Sherman will remain as Vice-Principal.   
Amy Strachan will become Principal at Trafalgar Middle School. Mark Bonikowsky, current counsellor at Mt. Sentinel will become Vice-Principal at Trafalgar Middle School. 
Sacha Kalabis will become Principal for Hume Elementary School. 
Misty Terpstra will be Principal at Wildflower Nelson and Wildflower Creston. 
Kim Jones will be Principal at Redfish Elementary.

Creston Family of Schools

Joanne Beddoes remains Principal at Adam Robertson Elementary School (ARES) until her retirement.
Darryl Adams is Vice-Principal at Adam Robertson Elementary School and will become Principal of ARES in January 2022. Tanya Poznikoff will be Vice-Principal at ARES effective January 2022.

Congratulations to all.

For more information, contact: 
Dr. Christine Perkins | Superintendent & Chief Executive Officer 
School District 8 Kootenay Lake 
811 Stanley Street, Nelson, B.C.   V1L 1N8 
Office:  250-505-7037 
Cell:  250-505-9625 

About The Board of Education of School District No. 8 (Kootenay Lake): 
The Board of Education of School District No. 8 provides educational services to numerous diverse communities in the East & West Kootenays, including Crawford Bay, Creston, Kaslo, Meadow Creek, Nelson, Salmo, Slocan, South Slocan, Winlaw, Wynndel and Yahk. Its dedicated team focuses on providing the best possible educational opportunities for over 5,400 students and their families. Its mission is to focus on excellence for all learners in a nurturing environment.