Kootenay Lake School District 2020 Bus Registration, Apply Now!

Bus registration for 2020/2021 school year is now open! The deadline for registration is September 4th, 2020.

School starts Thursday, September 10th, 2020. All riders from Kindergarten to Grade 12 need to register annually, in order to have a seat on the bus. Seats are limited and only registered riders may use the bus service. Due to space limitations some routes may have a waitlist.

It is very important to maintain up-to-date rider lists for drivers, especially in regards to contact tracing during the pandemic. Please register only if you will be a continuous rider (3-4 days per week).

Please note that due to COVID-19, transportation services may change (i.e. route alterations, rider capacity etc.) and will be communicated as soon as available on the District website. Further information regarding COVID protocols for riding the bus will be posted on the District website.

Online registration is now available at http://sd8.bc.ca.

Changing student demographics requires the Transportation Department conduct a review of the bus routes each year, and make adjustments where required. Similar to previous years, space on a school bus for the 2020/21 school year will be allocated first to eligible riders.

The online registration form and information regarding your catchment school website is available on the District website. Once approved by the Transportation Department you will receive a confirmation email with details of Bus route, stop time and location for your student. Registration forms are also available at your catchment school and from school bus drivers.

Please read and discuss the Procedure and Code of Conduct with your student before you accept the expectations for school bus transportation. 

Bus Schedules can be found on the School District 8 Web page under the Schools top tab/ Bussing and Transportation. All bus alerts are posted on the main page of the SD8 website; www.sd8.bc.ca or call the Bus Line at 1-888-352-0008.


For more information;

Dr. Christine Perkins 



About the Board of Education of School District No. 8 (Kootenay Lake):

The Board of Education of School District No. 8 provides educational services to numerous diverse communities in the East & West Kootenays, including Crawford Bay, Creston, Kaslo, Meadow Creek, Nelson, Salmo, Slocan, South Slocan, Winlaw, Wynndel and Yahk. Its dedicated team focuses on providing the best possible educational opportunities for over 5,400 students and their families. Its mission is to focus on excellence for all learners in a nurturing environment.